Goodbye

 

I never thought that this would be it.
Never had I thought of thoughts before
This gloomy, this sad; neither had I felt so
Unsure of what life and happiness really mean.
And so I went on, thinking that it was really it.
Unafraid, or trying to look brave, I said it out loud:
Goodbye.
Then I cried,
Not buckets of tears, or rivers of tears, or oceans of tears.
I cried nothing but felt myself dried up.
I couldn’t cry anymore. I’d cried too much I’d forgotten
What crying was for, or how crying had ever felt before,
Years ago, eons ago, many ancient hurts ago.
Unafraid, or trying to look brave, I say it out loud:
Goodbye.
Then I feel like crying again.

 

Leave a Reply

