Valerie

 

In the farthest, most peaceful corner of my mind,
Where valleys, rivers, birds, greens, and colors abound,
The sweetest flower called Valerie will be found,
Around her a bee always flies with mighty pride.
I can only watch them with a smile of envy,
Knowing in my heart of hearts I’m a nobody.
While he hovers, singing with a fighter’s spunk,
In silence I dream, I hope, I die, I sulk.
When I see Val with her eyes mysteriously sad,
I want to embrace her—I hope there’s plucker’s luck.
Even if there’s none, oh Valerie, my Val,
I have reserved for you a place in my heart.

 

Leave a Reply

