Vice

via Daily Prompt: Vice

 

My brain is telling me to stop,
But my heart, high and wise, just can’t.
When I see you I always see
Colors, clouds, heavens, and angels
Walking so tall, pleased, and erect
Like my dreams and my sense of self.
So many times I’ve been told to quit,
But never have I tried to yield,
‘Cause if I do it would be death—
Death so shameful I can die twice.
I’m sure I can never stop you
From seducing me. I should know,
I’ve known you since the beginning:
You’ve played with me, you’ve played on me.
I am stupidity genuine, sublime;
You are the sweetest suicide worth a try.

 

Leave a Reply

